New York News

Seafood Raffle

New York’s Nassau County AOH Div 8 is proud to announce that the drawing for its Annual Seafood Raffle for 2010 was held on June 27, 2010. Winners received fresh seafood for their 4th of July barbeques.  Congratulations to Grand Prize winners Barbara Donohue and Barney Lough who won lobster dinners for 6 people which included lobsters, corn, salad and two bottles of wine.  Other prize winners were Lynn Giordano, Katherine Rezza, Larry Rush, Shaun Byrne, Joseph McDonald and Laura Lyman. Congratulations to all and we hope you enjoyed the seafood.  Division 8 would like to thank Jim and Sophie McCabe, Michael Harrington, Lisa Forgione and the Ladies AOH, The Glen Cove Printery and all those who participated in the raffle.

Pictured is (L to R) Barbara Donohue and her daughter Barbara, Division 8 President John J. Hanley and Victoria Hanley

Richmond County AOH Members and their wives receive the Four Chaplains award for community service. Pictured at the Merchant Marine Academy are (L to R) Norm Nilsen, Walter Osborn, James Haynes and John Woods. Seated are William Reilley, Pat Nilsen, Mary Noon and Michael Ducey.

Richmond County AOH Div 4 held their fourth annual wounded warriors project dinner which collected $15,000.00 for the project. Pictured (L to R) Tony Fanelli CWV, Walter Osborn AOH Div 4 member dinner chairmen, awardees Colonel Dawson, Sergeant Herbst and Lieutenant Raznazk with AOH Richmond County President & dinner co-chair James Haynes III.

Members of Westchester County NY AOH/LAOH Division 16 gathered at St. Francis of Assisi Chapel for a mass for deceased members- Monsignor Edward Donovan, Martin Barry, Jr., Thomas Finn, Thomas Foley, Marie Healy, Angelina Hurton and Mary McGovern. The mass was conducted by Division chaplain Father Steven Clarke. Afterwards as the AOH and LAOH gathered downstairs, they were joined by County President Brian Kelly.  President Kelly and Division President William McCormack presented an AOH Life Membership to Division member Peter McKenna. Peter has been a member since 1957, having served as County President twice and as Division President three times. Peter was Grand Marshal of the 1995 Mount Kisco St. Patricks Day parade. At the Division meeting that night a new member Christopher Hurley was inducted. His deceased grandfather was an AOH member and his father is a current member of Division 16.   On June 13, 2010 the AOH and LAOH gathered for Irish stories for young and old by renowned storyteller Jonathan Kruk.

New Member and Life Member recognized. Pictured (L to R) Christopher J. Hurley, new member Christopher J. Hurley, new Life member Peter McKenna and NYS Division 16 President William McCormack

John Cardinal D’Alton Division 3, Pearl River Awards $10,000 in Scholarships

This year, the John Cardinal D’Alton division gave out $10,000 in scholarships in support of our Irish American values that stress the importance of education and our duty as Hibernians to pass on our history and culture to the next generation.  In addition to being reviewed on their Academic, Cultural and Community Service activities, the applicants also had to take an examination on Irish and Irish American History drawn from material provided in the monthly history articles featured in the division newsletter and website. The awards were made as part of Division 3’s annual Communion Breakfast.  Guest of honor and Speaker was Mrs. Mary Holt Moore a well respected scholar of Gaelic and Irish History, not to mention a direct descendant of General Joseph Holt, Commander of the Wicklow Rebels in 1798 and a second cousin to Seán Mac Diarmada, one of the signatories of the 1916 Proclamation and martyr in the cause of the Irish Republic. It is the Division’s hope that applicants will not only come away with a scholarship, but also an appreciation of the important role the Irish have played in shaping our world and nation.

Flanked by Scholarship Committee members Martin Davin (left) and Larry Kane (right) are this year’s Division 3 Pearl River, NY Scholarship winners.

Division 1 Yonkers Announces Winners of the “Commodore John Barry Memorial Medal”

The officers and members of the Myles Scully Division 1 of Yonkers are pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Commodore John Barry Memorial Medal. The award was made available to all Catholic Elementary Schools in the city of Yonkers for the first time this year.  The award is given to a graduating student who excels in U.S. History and/or Social Studies.  A total of 9 schools chose to participate in this year’s award program.  The schools and winners are as follows:  St. Ann’s School – Drita Nikac, St. Paul the Apostle School – Michael Donnelly, Christ the King School – Kevin Dronzek, St. Anthony’s School – Tyler Chen, St. Eugene’s School – Erin Thomas, St. John the Baptist School – Chelsea Dua, Sacred Heart School- Sean Crosby, St. Peter’s School – Jerry Thompson III, The Annunciation School – Julia McGarvey. The award is dedicated to the memory of Commodore John Barry, an Irish Catholic immigrant who is recognized as the father of the United States Navy.  He was awarded Navy Commission #1 by President George Washington in 1798, making him the first flag officer of the U.S. Navy.  Commodore John Barry’s accomplishments embody the immigrant struggle for success and serves as an example for all young students today.